I cried - Thomas Brooks

I cried

(Brooks, "A Word in Season to Suffering Saints")

The child has got many a kiss, and many a hug
?by crying.

"In my distress I called to the Lord; I cried to my
God for help. From His temple He heard my voice;
my cry came before Him, into His ears." Psalm 18:6

Prayer is the only means to supply all defects;
prayer gets all, and makes up for the loss of all.

It is not the length?but the strength of prayer;
it is not the labor of the lip?but the travail of the
heart?which prevails with God. It is not . . .
the arithmetic of our prayers?how many they are; nor
the rhetoric of our prayers?how eloquent they are; nor
the geometry of our prayers?how long they are; nor
the music of our prayers?how sweet they are; nor
the logic of our prayers?how methodical they are
?which will prevail with God. It is only fervency in
prayer, which will make a man prevalent with God.
Fervent prayer hits the mark, and pierces the walls
of heaven!

"In my anguish I cried to the Lord, and He
answered by setting me free." Psalm 118:5

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0